Skip to main content

Share Your Mail Folders (Outlook on the Web)

Folder Sharing lets you give others access to your mail folders. You specify which folder, and the level of access, that is, whether the delegate can simply see items in a folder, or whether they can create, edit, and/or delete items.

This article applies to: Outlook on the Web


Microsoft frequently updates the design of Outlook on the Web, so your version may not match exactly the description given here.

If you are sharing your Inbox, just follow the steps in Part One below. This is also true for sharing Sent Items, Deleted Items, or Drafts.

If you are sharing any folder lower in the hierarchy than your Inbox, be sure to follow the steps in both Part One and Part Two below.

Part One - Sharing the Contents of a Folder

This example shares your Inbox, but you can share any mail folder on the Exchange server. If you share a folder other than your Inbox, complete these steps AND the steps in Part Two below.

  1. Right-click the folder you want to share.
    You must select a folder under Folders, not in the Favorites section.
    (You can only share folders on the Exchange server, not local folders.)
  2. From the menu that appears, click Permissions. A Permissions dialog box will open.
  3. If the person (or group) you are going to share with is already listed in the table at the top of this dialog box, skip down to step 7.
  4. Click the plus sign near the top left of the dialog box.
  5. Enter all or part of the person's name or email address. Outlook will display matching entries from the directory.
  6. Select the desired entry, then click Add.
  7. With the person you're about to share with highlighted in the table at the top of the dialog box, use the Permission level drop-down list to select the desired level of access:
    Reviewer - the person can read items in your folder, but can't add, delete, or change anything.
    Author - the person can read and create items, and can modify and delete items that he or she creates. For example, the person can create task requests and meeting requests directly in your Calendar folder. The person cannot modify or delete something the you created.
    Editor - the person can do everything that an Author has permission to do and can modify and delete the items that you created.
  8. Click OK.

Part Two - Making Higher-Level Folders Visible

If you shared your Inbox in Part One above, you do not need to read any further or do any of the steps here in Part Two.

If you shared a folder lower in the hierarchy than your Inbox (that is, a folder "inside" your Inbox, Sent Items, Deleted Items, or Draft), you'll also need to make the "parents" of that folder visible so that the person can navigate to the folder you've shared. They won't be able to see the items in those other folders.

  1. In the left column of Outlook on the Web's mail display, right-click the parent folder for the folder you indicated in Part One above.
  2. From the menu that appears, click Permissions. A Permissions dialog box will open.
  3. With the person you're about to share with highlighted in the table at the top of the dialog box, click to put a checkmark next to Folder Visible in the Other section. Do not change the Permission level.
  4. Click OK.

Repeat these steps with each "parent" folder until you have set this for your Inbox.

Was this page helpful?

Your feedback helps improve the site.

Comments?