Skip to main content

Set Box Collaboration Permissions

Change Access levels in Box

This article applies to: Box


Set Permissions

When you create a folder in Box, the default access level is Collaborators Only. (The default used to be Open.) You can set the access to any level by viewing the contents of the folder, then clicking in the Sharing section in the pane on the right. The choices are

  • People with the link: anyone with the link can access the content.
  • People in Your Company: anyone with a cornell.edu email address and all collaborators (regardless of their address) can access the content.
  • People in this Folder: the folder is private, and only viewable by you and any collaborators you specify.
  • Remove link: Only collaborators can access the content. Removes the direct link to the content.
If the access level is People with the Link, anyone who knows the link can access the information. If it is set to Your Company, anyone with a Cornell email address who knows the link can access the information. Someone you send the link to could intentionally or inadvertently forward the link to someone else.

Change the Access Level on an Existing Folder

  1. In Box, navigate to the folder.
  2. In the right column, look under Shared
  3. A dialog box will open, select People in this Folder (or the level it is currently set to)
  4. Under Access Type, select the level of access you want.

Check List of Collaborators

  1. In Box, navigate to a folder.
  2. In the right column, click on the Details Icon 
  3. Select Sharing
  4. Select Manage Permissions
  5. You'll see a list of Collaborators. Review this list to see if anyone inappropriate or unexpected is listed.  
  6. To remove a person, under the Permissions column, select their current access level then select Remove.

If the list is long, be sure to click the more collaborators link at the bottom of displayed names to open a Folder Collaborators dialog box that displays the whole list. To remove someone from the dialog box, click the access level next to their name, then select Remove.

For an overview of setting collaboration permissions in Box see https://support.box.com/entries/23609732-What-are-the-different-access-levels-for-collaborators.

Was this page helpful?

Your feedback helps improve the site.

Comments?