Skip to main content

Manage Channel Membership

How to add or remove members from a channel in Video on Demand.  Also, information about Channel Membership levels in Video on Demand.

This article applies to: Video on Demand


Channel Membership Levels

Channel members may have one of four access levels:

  • Member: this access level allows the member to only view content.
  • Contributor: this access level allows the member to view and add content to a channel. Content added to the channel may be subject to moderation, if the channel is configured to require moderation.
  • Moderator: this access level allows the member to view and add content. The member can approve content additions to a channel that requires moderation.
  • Manager: this access level provides administrator permissions and is the same level as the channel owner. Managers may add, update or delete content and members.
We recommend that you exercise caution when granting anyone Contributor, Moderator, or Manager permission to your channel.

To Add a Member to a Channel

IMPORTANT: before you may add a member to a channel, the member must log in to Video on Demand (VOD) at least once. VOD accounts are created when members first log in to the system. Until then members do not have VOD accounts. If someone has never logged in to VOD, their NetID will not be recognized by VOD and you will not be able to add them as a member.

  1. Open your My Channels page.
    My Channels
  2. Click Edit on the channel's thumbnail displayed on the My Channels page. You may also open the channel then click the Actions button and Edit.
    Edit Channels
  3. Click the Members tab near the top of the page.
    Channel Members
  4. Click the Add Member button.
  5. In the Add Member window enter the member's NetID in the user name field.  Do not enter "@cornell.edu".  Select the member's access permission for the channel. Click AddAdd Member
  6. The member list will be displayed. From this list you can change permission levels, delete members, and transfer channel ownership to another member.
IMPORTANT: if you transfer ownership of your channel to another member, you will retain Manager permissions.

To Remove a Member from a Channel

  1. Open your My Channels page.
    My Channels
  2. Click Edit on the channel's thumbnail displayed on the My Channels page. You may also open the channel then click the Actions button and Edit.
     Edit Channel Members
  3. Click the Members tab near the top of the page.
    Channel Members
  4. Find the member and click the "x" next to the member's name.
    Delete Channel Member
  5. Click Yes to confirm that you wish to remove the member from the channel.

Was this page helpful?

Your feedback helps improve the site.

Comments?