Skip to main content

About Cornell Secure File Transfer

This article applies to: Cornell Secure File Transfer


What is Cornell Secure File Transfer?

Cornell Secure File Transfer is a secure method for transferring files. Files are encrypted during transport over SSL (https://) using strong encryption only.

How long has Cornell had this service?

Since Spring 2006. (Before August 2019, the service was called “Cornell Dropbox.”)

Who can use Secure File Transfer?

Any person with an active Cornell NetID or any individual with a valid email address who has been whitelisted by a Cornell community member.

Who should use Secure File Transfer?

Anybody who wants to transfer files securely to another person or computer.

Remember, using email to transfer files containing confidential data is NOT secure and is a violation of university data security policy.

Where can I use Secure File Transfer?

Wherever there is a computer with an Internet connection and a supported web browser.

How long do files remain on Secure File Transfer?

The default automatic expiration is 14 days and can only be changed during upload. Optional expirations of 3, 7, and 21 days are available.

Can I extend the expiration of a file?

No. The expiration date of a file is set on upload. Neither sender nor receiver can extend the expiration once it has been uploaded. However, you may download/upload the file again before the expiration date.

When am I logged out? Is there an inactivity timeout?

You are logged out after 30 minutes of inactivity. If you are in the middle of a file upload, you will not be forced to login until after your upload completes.

What does "Remember to use NetID Login option on this computer" do?

By selecting the checkbox and logging in, a cookie will be stored on the computer setting "NetID Login" as the default method. No private information is stored in the cookie, simply a Yes/No. You will still need to enter your NetID and password every time you log in to Secure File Transfer.

This option should not be used on public computers.

What is the "Recent Activity" link on the bottom of the page?

As an extra layer of security when you are logged in, you can review exactly when and where your login has been used last on Secure File Transfer.

Can I change the name displayed when I send or download files?

No. The name displayed is pulled and updated automatically from the Cornell Directory.

About this Article

Last updated: 

Friday, August 23, 2019 - 9:32am

Was this page helpful?

Your feedback helps improve the site.

Comments?