Skip to main content

Add or Maintain External Users in Your Whitelist

This article applies to: Cornell Secure File Transfer


To share files with people who do not have Cornell NetIDs, you will need to add their email addresses to your Cornell Secure File Transfer whitelist. Each Secure File Transfer user maintains his or her own separate list of external users in a whitelist. 

About whitelist entries

  • You may add as many addresses as you want to your whitelist (within reason).
  • External users can only send files to Cornell community members who have added them to their whitelist.
  • External users entered in a whitelist will expire after the period set when they were added (one, three, or six months). 
  • Whitelist passwords need to be set to prevent a malicious user from accessing the files you have sent to the external user. This way, even if a malicious user gained access to the external user's email account, they would also need to know the whitelist password to download files from Cornell Secure File Transfer. For this reason, it is important that you never provide the password to an external user through email, and the whitelist password should not be the same as any other password you or the recipient use. 
  • Whitelist entries are specific to your Secure File Transfer account.
  • With the exception of @med.cornell.edu and @qatar-med.cornell.edu, email addresses in the cornell.edu domain cannot be added to the whitelist. These users should use their Cornell NetID to send or receive files with Cornell Secure File Transfer.

  • External users cannot change the password set by the user with a NetID who added them to a whitelist. The password is unique to each individual NetID and external user pair and is used only for purposes of transferring files between that pair. The Login ID and PIN process ties external users to their own account each time they log in.

Adding an External user to your Whitelist

This process can only be performed by a user with a Cornell NetID, to add an external user without a NetID to a whitelist for transferring files securely.

  1. From the Secure File Transfer main page, click Whitelist.
  2. Click Add New External User.
  3. In the Add New External User window, type the new external user’s email address in the Email Address field.
  4. Type a password for the user in the Password field, then re-type it in the Password (again) field. Make a note of the password, as you will need to provide it to the user yourself.
Follow the guidelines for your Secure File Transfer password.
  1. From the Expires dropdown, select an expiration period for the user’s password. (You can choose to have the password expire after 1 month, 3 months, or 6 months.)
  2. Click the Add button.

  3. To add additional non-Cornell external users, click Add New External User again and repeat the process for the next user.
  4. Otherwise, when you are done adding external users, click Return to Secure File Transfer.

Changing an external user’s password

  1. From the Secure File Transfer main page, click Whitelist.
  2. In the list of External Users, click the checkbox in the Select column next to the user whose password you want to change.
  3. At the top right of the External Users list, to the right of Action, click Change Password.
  4. In the Change Password window, type the new password for the user into the Password field, then type it again into the Password (again) field. Make a note of the new password, as you will need to provide it to the user yourself.
Follow the guidelines for your Secure File Transfer password.  
  1. Click Save to set the renewal period or Cancel to return to the Whitelist page without saving.
  2. To return to the Secure File Transfer main page, click Return to Secure File Transfer.

Renewing an Expired External User

  1. From the Secure File Transfer main page, click Whitelist.
  2. In the list of External Users, click the checkbox in the Select column next to the user you wish to renew.
  3. At the top right of the External Users list, to the right of Action, click Renew.
  4. In the Renew External User window, in the Expires column, use the dropdown to set the renewal period by selecting either 1 month, 3 months, or 6 months.
  5. Click Save to set the renewal period or Cancel to return to the Whitelist page without saving.

About this Article

Last updated: 

Friday, August 23, 2019 - 7:04am

Was this page helpful?

Your feedback helps improve the site.

Comments?