Skip to main content

What Happens to My LastPass Account When I Leave?

This article applies to: Secure Password Management


When you leave Cornell, your account will be converted to a free, personal account. All the site information you have saved will be retained. Of course, credentials you used to access some Cornell services will no longer be valid, so you'll probably want to remove those items from your LastPass vault, just to keep things simple and tidy.

We also recommend that you change your LastPass login credentials to a personal email address, rather than your Cornell address. All communication with LastPass will be sent to the address listed in your login credentials. If you should lose your LastPass master password, information on resetting it can only be sent to the address in your login credentials, and if you no longer have access to that address, you'll be stuck.

Was this page helpful?

Your feedback helps improve the site.

Comments?