Skip to main content

Cornell University

Google Chrome: "Your organization will manage this profile"

In This Article

Issue

I receive a pop-up in Google Chrome when I sign in to my Cornell Google account that states:

Your organization will manage this profile. This account (netid@cornell.edu) is managed by cornell.edu. You’re adding a managed profile to this browser. Your administrator has control over the profile and can access its data. Bookmarks, history, passwords, and other settings can be synced to your account and managed by your administrator.

Why am I receiving this? How do I stop the pop-up from happening every time I log in? Does Cornell have access to my bookmarks, history, passwords, etc.?

Resolution

First, don't worry. Release 102 of Chrome included changes to make the distinction between personal and enterprise profiles more evident. This pop-up is part of that, but nothing about the way your information is handled has changed.

To prevent the pop-up notice from appearing every time you log in to your Cornell Google account in Google Chrome, choose one of the following resolutions:

  • If you want to sync your Chrome profile across multiple devices, turn on sync. When sync is on, and you are signed in to Chrome, this pop-up will no longer appear.
  • Learn how to turn on Chrome profile sync
  • If you don't want to sync your Chrome profile across multiple devices, turn off sync. When sync is off, and you are signed in to Chrome, this pop-up will no longer appear.
  • Learn how to turn off Chrome profile sync
  • If you don't want to sign in to a Chrome profile at all, the only way to do this is to use Guest mode every time you browse. However, you will need to sign in every time you use Chrome. 

Learn how to use Guest mode in Google Chrome

Additional Information

When the Pop-up Appears

  • The pop-up appears when you sign in to your Cornell Google account (via Gmail, Google Drive, etc.) using the desktop Google Chrome browser version 102 or newer outside of an existing Google Chrome profile, Guest profile, or the profile creation flow. Learn more about Google Chrome profiles.
  • The pop-up started appearing for Cornell users in late May/early June 2022 when Google Chrome for desktop version 102 was released. The notice may also appear on other Chromium-based browsers such as Microsoft Edge, Brave, Opera, etc.

Why the Pop-up Appears

Google's information about the update says:

"Chrome 102 brings better separation between personal and enterprise-managed data. When the user signs into a managed account, they will have the option to either keep existing browsing data separate, or merge it with the managed account. By default, the data is kept separate, so a new profile will be created. Or, if they choose, they can merge the existing profile into the managed account. This prevents inadvertent sharing of personal data with work accounts. The ManagedAccountsSigninRestriction policy can be used to hide the checkbox altogether, allowing admins to force users to create a separate work profile."

  • No policies or configurations have been changed. Google, not Cornell, made this language change.
  • The pop-up tries to make it clearer to you (as the user) that you are using Google Chrome via a Google account managed by Cornell.
    • Cornell does not manage your Chrome usage in any way.
    • The pop-up gives you the option to create a new profile for your Cornell account to avoid merging bookmarks, history, and passwords if you so choose.

Cornell and Your Chrome Data

  • Cornell does not view or manage your bookmarks, browsing history, passwords, or any other information stored in your Chrome profile.
  • The only information Cornell receives when you sign in to a Chrome profile is your email address, your operating system (OS), OS version, and the date/time you first and last synced the profile. This information is not monitored.
  • The only management controls that Cornell has are the ability to sign you out of the profile on that specific device, which would only ever occur in the event of a security breach (such as a lost or stolen device).
  • If you choose to sync your profile you will have the same bookmarks, history, and passwords available to you any time you sign in to Chrome on any device.

The information in this article was borrowed, with permission, from the University of Michigan support site.

Comments?

To share feedback about this page or request support, log in with your NetID

At Cornell we value your privacy. To view
our university's privacy practices, including
information use and third parties, visit University Privacy.