Skip to main content

Grant or Revoke Access to a Previously Uploaded File

This article applies to: Cornell Secure File Transfer


The sender of a file may optionally grant or revoke access to a file after the file has been uploaded to Cornell Secure File Transfer.

You can only grant or revoke access to one file at a time.

Granting Access to a File

  1. From the Secure File Transfer main page, click the name of the file you to which would like to grant access. 
  2. Click Grant.
  3. In the Grant File Access window, type the email address of the recipient(s) in the To: field.
  4. Check the Notify New Recipients by Email box if you would like to send a notification email to the recipient(s).

  5. Check the CC: box if you would like to receive a copy of the notification.

  6. You can add text to the end of the notification Subject line. Type text you want to add into the Append to Subject field.

  7. Click Grant to give access to the file.
If a file has been deleted from Secure File Transfer, you can no longer grant another user access to it. (Deleted files may still display in your Outbox.)

Revoking Access to a File

  1. From the Secure File Transfer main page, click the name of the file you to which would like to revoke access.
  2. Click Revoke.
  3. In the Revoke File Access window, in the Select column, click the checkbox beside the email address whose access you wish to revoke.
  4. Click Revoke.

  5. Click OK when asked by the prompt to confirm you wish to revoke access.
If a recipient has already downloaded the file from Cornell Secure File Transfer the file will remain on the recipient's computer, even if you later revoke access. Revoking will only prevent a recipient from performing future downloads of the file.

About this Article

Last updated: 

Friday, August 23, 2019 - 7:09am

Was this page helpful?

Your feedback helps improve the site.

Comments?