Skip to main content

Share Your Calendar

This article applies to: Outlook 2016 for Mac


By default, everyone who has a Cornell Exchange account has limited access to your calendar. As they create a meeting invitation, they will be able to see (on the Scheduling Assistant tab) whether you are free or busy, but they won't be able to see any other information about your schedule (such as the meeting title, who is invited, or where it's taking place).

Sharing your calendar allows people to look at the items on your calendar in more detail. You specify whether they can simply view the details for your calendar, or whether they can also create and/or edit items on your calendar.

Sharing your calendar with everyone at Cornell

This option changes what everyone at Cornell can see about your calendar.

  1. Click Calendar at the bottom of the main Outlook window.
  2. On the Organize tab of the ribbon, click Calendar Permissions.
  3. On the Calendar Properties dialog box, click the Permissions tab.
  4. In the list (with columns titled User and Role) click Default.
    (Do not, for any reason, delete this entry. Deleting it will cause errors.)
  5. Choose from the Permission Level drop-down list. (What do the choices mean?)
    We recommend that you choose Reviewer, which allows everyone to view your calendar as read-only. (The initial setting is Free/Busy time, which allows everyone to view only your free/busy time in the Scheduling Assistant tab.)
  6. Click OK.

Sharing your calendar with specific people

  1. Click Calendar at the bottom of the main Outlook window.
  2. On the Organize tab of the ribbon, click Calendar Permissions.
  3. On the Calendar Properties dialog box, click the Permissions tab.
  4. If the person you want to share with is listed, skip down to step 7. If they are not listed, continue with step 5.
  5. Click Add User.
  6. In the field at the top of the Select Users dialog box, type all or part of the person's first or last name (or their NetID), then click Find. Accounts that match what you typed will be displayed.
  7. Click on the person you want to share with, then click OK. You'll be taken back to the Folder Properties dialog box.
  8. Click on the person's name, then choose from the Permission Level drop-down list. (What do the choices mean?)
    Short version: if you just want to let this person see what's on your calendar, use Reviewer. If you want this person to see what's on your calendar AND be able to create new events, use Non-editing Author.
  9. Click OK.

The person you selected will be able to view your calendar once they tell their Exchange mail client they want to.

Was this page helpful?

Your feedback helps improve the site.

Comments?