This article applies to: Outlook 2016 for Windows
When sharing a mail folder or your calendar, you can choose what level of access to grant. Here's a list of the permission levels available in Outlook 2016 for Windows, listed from least access to most access.
Most people only need to set permission levels for their calendar, so certain other people can see the details of their calendar, not just their free/busy times. "Reviewer" is the permission level you'll most likely want to use for that purpose.
One terminology note: in this context, "publishing" means creating a folder in a hierarchy, which is probably not what you'd assume it means.
|Permission level||What it means to the person being given access|
|None||The person has no access.|
|For mail, person has no access. For calendar, meeting proposer can see your free/busy times in the Scheduling Assistant or the Scheduling tab. This is the default setting for Office 365 accounts at Cornell.|
Free/Busy, Time, Subject, and Location
|For mail, person has no access. For calendar, meeting proposer can see your free/busy times, including details (but not the text of the meeting notes), in the Scheduling Assistant or the Scheduling tab.|
|Contributor||Person can create new items but cannot see any of the contents of the folder. (The folder's owner will be able to see them.)|
|Reviewer||Person can read items in the folder, but cannot create, edit, or delete items.|
|Nonediting Author||Person can create and read items, but not edit them. Person can delete items they've created, but cannot delete items created by the owner or other people.|
|Author||Person can create and read items. Person can edit and delete items they've created, but not items created by the owner or other people.|
|Publishing Author||Same as Author, plus person can create new sub-folders.|
|Editor||Person can create, read, edit, and delete all items, regardless of who created them.|
|Publishing Editor||Same as Editor, plus person can create new sub-folders.|
|Owner||Person has supreme executive power over your folder, as if it was their own.|