Skip to main content

Share Your Calendar in Outlook 2013 for Windows

This article applies to: Outlook 2013 for Windows


With Exchange calendar, you can open someone else's calendar only if they say you can. The only information that is available to everyone is what's called your "free/busy" times (when your calendar events start and end, but not their name or who is attending). Your free/busy times are shown when someone attempts to schedule you for a meeting.

Undergraduate student employees can have undergraduate Exchange accounts. You can share your calendar with these student employees in the same way you would for faculty and staff.

Share Your Calendar with Everyone at Cornell

This option changes what everyone at Cornell can see about your calendar.

  1. In Outlook's Navigation Pane, click Calendar.
  2. Below the heading My Calendars, you’ll see the entry Calendar. That’s the entry we’ll be working with in the following steps.
  3. Right-click Calendar. From the menu that appears, click Properties. A Calendar Properties dialog box will open.
  4. Click the Permissions tab.
  5. In the list at the top of the Permissions tab, click Default. (Do not, for any reason, delete this entry. Deleting it will cause errors.)
  6. From the Permission Level drop-down list, select the desired level of access. 
    We recommend that you choose one of these:
    Free/Busy time - this is the default value. When proposing a meeting and using the Scheduling Assistant, everyone can see blocks of time when you are busy, but cannot see other details, such as subject, location, participants, notes, or attachments. 
    Free/Busy time, subject, location - when proposing a meeting and using the Scheduling Assistant, everyone can see time, subject, and location of the items on your calendar, but cannot see other details, such as participants, notes, or attachments. 
    Reviewer - everyone can open your calendar and see the details of the items on your calendar, but can't add, delete, or change anything. 
  7. Click OK.

Share Read-Only (Reviewer) Access to Your Calendar with Specific People

This method lets you share your calendar by sending an email notification to the person. This is a quick way to give someone read-only access to your calendar. For more options, see By Setting Permissions in Outlook below.

Avoiding "permissions" errors

Although you can type a name into the To field on the message, some people have reported receiving a permissions error using this method. We strongly recommend that you follow the path described in steps 3-6.

  1. In Outlook's Navigation Pane, click Calendar.
  2. On the Home ribbon, in the Share section, click Share Calendar. An email message will open with the subject "Sharing invitation."
  3. Click To.
  4. In the Select Names dialog box that opens, make sure Global Address List is selected from the Address Book drop-down list.
  5. In the search box, type the person's name or NetID, then click Go.
  6. In the search results, select the name you want, click To (at the bottom of the dialog box), then click OK.
  7. (optional) If you would like to request access to this person's calendar, check Request permission to view recipient's Calendar.
  8. In the body of message include whatever explanatory text you feel is appropriate.
  9. Click Send.

Share Your Calendar By Setting Permissions in Outlook 

This option lets you choose which level of access to your calendar you want to give someone.

  1. In Outlook's Navigation Pane, click Calendar.
  2. Below the heading My Calendars, you’ll see the entry Calendar. That’s the entry we’ll be working with in the following steps.
  3. Right-click Calendar. From the menu that appears, click Properties. A Calendar Properties dialog box will open.
  4. Click the Permissions tab.
  5. Click Add.
  6. In the Add Users dialog box that opens, make sure Global Address List is selected from the Address Book drop-down list.
  7. In the search box, type the person's name or NetID (or the name of the CornellAD group), then click Go.
  8. In the search results, select the name you want, click To (at the bottom of the dialog box), then click OK.
  9. In the list at the top of the Permissions tab, highlight the person (or group) you just added.
  10. From the Permission Level drop-down list, select the desired level of access.
    We recommend that you choose one of these:
    Free/Busy time - this is the default value. When proposing a meeting and using the Scheduling Assistant, the person with this permission can see blocks of time when you are busy, but cannot see other details, such as subject, location, participants, notes, or attachments. 
    Free/Busy time, subject, location - when proposing a meeting and using the Scheduling Assistant, the person with this permission can see time, subject, and location of the items on your calendar, but cannot see other details, such as participants, notes, or attachments. 
    Reviewer - the person with this permission can open your calendar and see the details of the items on your calendar, but can't add, delete, or change anything. 
  11. Click OK.

Was this page helpful?

Your feedback helps improve the site.

Comments?