Skip to main content

Create Events in Outlook 2013 for Windows

An event is an all-day calendar item, or a note about a date.

This article applies to: Outlook 2013 for Windows


A Quick Terminology Guide

  • An appointment is an item you create for yourself.
  • A meeting is just like an appointment, except that it includes more than one person.
  • An event is an all-day appointment, meeting, or note about a date.

You'll follow very similar steps to create and work with appointments, meetings, and events. 

The steps you take to create an event are nearly the same as those for creating an appointment (if the event is just for you) or a meeting (if you want to invite others). The only differences are:

  • Specifying that it's an event, which changes its appearance on all calendar views
  • Start and end times are not used
  1. In any calendar view, click New Items, then select All Day Event from the drop-down menu. An Untitled - Event window will open with the All day event box checked and the start and end times grayed out, indicating that they are not relevant.
  2. Fill out the remaining fields as you would for an appointment. By default, if someone schedules a meeting for that day, the Scheduling Assistant will show you as free, but you can change this to show you as busy all day with the Show As drop-down list in the toolbar.
  3. Click Save & Close in the toolbar when you're finished.

You'll see that the event appears in the section at the top of the column for that day, rather than blocking off the entire column.

Options for All-Day Events

You can also invite others to an all-day event using the Scheduling Assistant the same way you use it to schedule a meeting. Many groups use Events to alert their colleagues of vacation time.

Exchange Tip

If you're using an event for something like this (notifying colleagues of your time away), you probably don't need to know whether your colleagues "accept" the event. After adding at least one attendee (besides yourself), click Response Options (in the ribbon), then click to de-select Request Responses

Now when you send the "invitation," the other people will be notified of your plans, but they won't need to respond to the message. (Please note that not all email clients understand or conform to this setting. Many mobile clients and iCal and iPhone send a response regardless of this setting.)

Was this page helpful?

Your feedback helps improve the site.

Comments?