Skip to main content

View Shared Calendars in Outlook 2013 for Windows

This article applies to: Outlook 2013 for Windows


As you create a meeting invitation using the Scheduling Assistant, you are able to see whether others are free or busy, but you won't be able to see any other information about their schedule (such as the meeting title, who is invited, or where it's taking place), nor are you able to view their calendar in the same ways you view your own.

But if someone has chosen to share their calendar with you, you'll be able to look at the items in more detail. You may have been given read-only rights, also called Reviewer, or higher-level rights such as Author and Editor, which allow you to create and read items in the account, are used less often.

If you've also been given rights to the person's email folders, DO NOT use the procedure listed here. Instead, use the steps listed in our View Shared Email Folders article, which will also give you access to the person's calendar.

Use the following set of steps to view another person's shared calendar no matter what level of access you've been given to that calendar. Once you've done this, you'll see their calendar listed in the Calendar section of your Folder Pane every time you use Outlook. Remember that the other person must follow the steps on our Share Your Calendar article before you can follow the steps listed below.

  1. In the Folder Pane click Calendar.
  2. On the Home tab of the ribbon, in the Manage Calendar section, click Open Calendar, then select Open Shared Calendar.
  3. In the small Open a Shared Calendar dialog box, click Name.
  4. In the Select Name dialog box, search by typing the person's NetID or name, then click Go.
  5. Select the desired person's name in the resulting list, then click OK to close the Select Name dialog box.
  6. Click OK to close the Open a Shared Calendar dialog box.

The person's calendar will now appear in under Shared Calendars in your Folder Pane, and their calendar will be displayed side-by-side with yours. You can choose which calendars to have open using the checkboxes that appear next to each calendar's line in your Folder Pane.

If the person has NOT shared their calendar with you, you'll notice that their calendar is entirely blank.

Was this page helpful?

Your feedback helps improve the site.

Comments?