Skip to main content

Conversation View in Outlook 2013 for Windows

This article applies to: Outlook 2013 for Windows


By default, Outlook 2013 displays your messages in order of Date Received. You can change the sort order by clicking the heading in any column, or by selecting an option in the Arrangement section of the View tab.

Another way to arrange your messages is Conversion View, which clusters your messages based on Subject. The original message, your replies, and other people's replies are all displayed together.

Conversation view can help by giving you a compact record of an entire thread, but it can be confusing if you have more than one conversation with identical Subjects, or if you prefer to see your messages in strict chronological order.

If you delete a message while in Conversation view, you actually delete all messages in that thread.

To turn Conversation view on or off, in the ribbon, click the View tab. Check or uncheck Show as Conversations. You'll then be asked whether you want this view to apply only to the current folder or all folders.

Was this page helpful?

Your feedback helps improve the site.

Comments?