Skip to main content

Recover Deleted Messages

In Office 365, you can recover messages after deletion using Outlook on the Web. Not all messages can be recovered.

This article applies to: Outlook on the Web


Microsoft frequently updates the design of Outlook on the Web, so your version may not match exactly the description given here.

Office 365 tries really hard to let you recover messages you've deleted, just in case you didn't actually want to delete them. Even after messages have been put in the Deleted Items folder, and that folder has been emptied, the messages are still recoverable.

Usually. But here's the exception:

If you delete an entire folder of messages (using the Delete item on the menu that appears when you right-click (or ctrl-click on a Mac) on the folder), the messages in that folder are gone, gone, gone. 

You may be able to recover the messages IF you have a backup (from Time Machine, EZ-Backup, etc.).

How to Recover Messages After They've Been Deleted
and the Deleted Items Folder Has Been Emptied

These messages are recoverable under the following conditions:

  • The messages were NOT in a folder that was deleted using the Delete item on the menu that appears when you right-click (or ctrl-click on a Mac) on the folder.

AND

  • The Deleted Items folder was emptied no more than 30 days ago.
  1. Launch Outlook Web App in your browser (http://outlook.cornell.edu).
  2. In the navigation pane on the left, right-click (Mac: ctrl-click) Deleted Items, then click Recover deleted items. A Recover deleted items dialog box will open.
  3. As you hover over each message, a checkbox will appear at the left edge of the dialog box. Click to put a check next to the messages you want to recover.
    NOTE: You will only see individual messages listed, not entire folders.
  4. When you've selected the messages to recover, click Recover near the top of the dialog box.
  5. You'll see a message explaining where the recovered items will be placed. Click OK.
  6. Repeat steps 3 - 5 to recover additional items as desired.
  7. Close the Recover deleted items dialog box.

Was this page helpful?

Your feedback helps improve the site.

Comments?