Skip to main content

Trash In File Collaboration Services is Eventually Automatically Deleted


Files placed in the Trash or Recycle bin for Cornell's Box, OneDrive for Business, SharePoint, and Google Drive will automatically be deleted permanently after a set amount of time. Permanent deletion occurs after 30 days for Box and Google Drive, and after 90 days for OneDrive for Business and SharePoint.

Please be aware:

  • In most cases, these locations are not backed up by Cornell services like Code42, and so are not retrievable from them. If you want to talk about file storage and backup options, contact your local technical support provider.
  • When you share files or folders in these services, your collaborators may have the ability to send them to the Trash or Recycle bin. In some cases they might do so inadvertently, thinking they are getting rid of something specific to them, not the original shared item.

You can:

About this Article

Last updated: 

Friday, February 26, 2021 - 10:12am

Was this page helpful?

Your feedback helps improve the site.

Comments?